Tuesday 20 October 2015

2015 South African of The Year Awards – Highlights and Winners

Following the exceptional success of the first ANN7 South African of the Year (SATY) awards which was held last year, the channel, which continues to grow from strength to strength, hosted its second annual awards presentation this year (2015 SATY awards). The Swag Craze team attended the awards on Saturday, 17 October 2015 at the Ticketpro Dome.

The awards started on a celebratory note, as we celebrated the win of the Sprinboks against stiff competition from Wales (23–19). Everyone was extremely proud and congratulated the Springboks, including His Excellency President Jacob Zuma who was also in attendance.

The theme for the 2015 SATY awards was ‘Unity in Diversity’ and the event celebrated the accomplishments of achievers that contributed across various fields to the unity and diversity in South Africa. The winners were:
  • Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma - South African Of The Year

  • Cassper Nyovest - Trendsetting Celebrity Of The Year
  • Sibusiso Leope Education Foundation (DJ Sbu) - Spirit Of Humanity

  • Hugh Masekela - Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Thabo Molefe (DJ Tbo Touch) - Entrepreneur Of The Year
  • Fundisile Mketeni (CEO SA National Parks) - Conservationist Of The Year
  • AB de Villiers (Cricket)- Sportsperson Of The Year
  • Nedbank, Ke Yona - Campaign Of The Year
  • Jabu Mabuza - Business Leader Of The year
  • Kgomotso Pooe (Soweto Outdoor Adventures) - Young Person Of The Year

South Africa’s top local artists performed at the event, which included Mango Groove, AKA, ChianoSky, The Soil and Mafikizolo. International Superstar, Jason Derulo closed the event on a stellar note, however his performance sparked conversations on Twitter and became a trending topic for a different reason.

See some of the dope performances below:

Congratulations to all the nominees and the winners!

No comments:

Post a Comment